iPod Nano Hacking

The springboard hack is just the removal of a app and creation of a blank space. Not that amazing, but whats important is the bypass of Nano’s cache comparison, which compares any modded SB file and reverts it if it doesn’t like it, this opens up the possibility of hacking and modding, while not adding bootloaders or any of that fun stuff.

Next is the discovery in some of the device’s plists of reference to support of Movies, TV Shows, Apps, Games, vCards, Calender events and so on, with a few other cool things like a passcode lock. With the bypass I figured out, I hope to enable these pretty soon. It seems like the OS is a rehashed version of the previous Nano’s OS.

If we can get a bootloader or something on it, I think it’d be an awesome device and may be easier as it has disk mode available. Seemingly there is a difference between the PC and Mac formats of the device.

Follow the new touch Nano hacking process at http://nanohack.me or follow me on twitter (@jwhelton) to track how J Whelton is doing. Best Of Luck!!

About ipodrohan

Rohan Sood, I am 14 years old. I am all about Technology and Gadgets! I am currently at New Delhi, India. Future plans are going to USA and working at one of the awesomest companies APPLE Inc. As you might know, “TECHNOLOGY” is present everywhere. Let’s together understand this word and make the World a better place. I believe in “Sharing KNOWLEDGE”. I created this Blog to share as much Knowledge as possible. I hope you find my Blog interesting and self-sufficient. I will keep you UP-TO-DATE about the Technology News around the Globe!

Posted on December 28, 2010, in iDevice Related, News and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

