Apple denies new in-app purchase rule; Devs must enforce it by June 30?

Apple has denied updating the App Store rules regarding in-app purchases – and which Sony fell foul of with their Reader for iPhone app – claiming instead that it is merely enforcing a rule that has been in the guidelines for some time. “We have not changed our developer terms or guidelines,” Apple spokesperson Trudy Muller told AllThingsD. “We are now requiring that if an app offers customers the ability to purchase books outside of the app, that the same option is also available to customers from within the app with in-app purchase.”

 

The rule in question is believed to be 11.2:

11.2 Apps utilizing a system other than the In App Purchase API (IAP) to purchase content, functionality, or services in an app will be rejected

It, along with Muller’s statement, implies that Amazon could continue to sell ebooks via its current method – opening up the regular Amazon webpage in the Safari browser – but if so it would also be required to offer an internal system using Apple’s in-app purchasing system. Since IAP items are treated as just more app store content by Apple, that might mean Amazon had to individually submit each ebook for approval, as well as handing over 30-percent of the takings in an iTunes tithe. It’s also unclear whether Amazon would then allow Kindle users to re-download – from their own servers – the IAP content on Kindle ereaders or non-iOS versions of the app.

If anything, the clarification has made the situation a little more confusing; Apple looks to be pushing for a bigger cut of the content pie, and since Sony’s Reader app looks to have used the same browser-based purchasing system as Amazon’s, that implies Amazon may well have to tweak the Kindle app too. Apple has also been using rule 11.2 to crack-down on emagazine subscriptions; according to Monday Note, publishers have been told that they have a “grace period” up until June 30 2011 to enable the required IAP support:

“For existing apps already on the App Store, we are providing a grace period to bring your app into compliance with this guideline. To ensure your app remains on the App Store, please submit an update that uses the In App Purchase API for purchasing content, by June 30, 2011″

About ipodrohan

Rohan Sood, I am 14 years old. I am all about Technology and Gadgets! I am currently at New Delhi, India. Future plans are going to USA and working at one of the awesomest companies APPLE Inc. As you might know, “TECHNOLOGY” is present everywhere. Let’s together understand this word and make the World a better place. I believe in “Sharing KNOWLEDGE”. I created this Blog to share as much Knowledge as possible. I hope you find my Blog interesting and self-sufficient. I will keep you UP-TO-DATE about the Technology News around the Globe!

Posted on February 2, 2011, in Apple, Gadgets, iDevice Related, Information, News and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 21 Comments.

  1. Excellent piece. I was checking constantly this blog and I’m quite impressed! Extremely useful info particularly the last part. I care for such info a lot. I was seeking this certain info for a very long time. Thank you and good luck.

  2. I simply want to tell you that I am newbie to blogging and seriously enjoyed this web-site. Very likely I’m going to bookmark your blog post . You actually come with great article content. Thanks for revealing your web-site.

  3. Hello.This article was extremely interesting, especially because I was browsing for thoughts on this topic last Wednesday.

  4. I’m typically to blogging and i really appreciate your content. The article has actually peaks my interest. I am going to bookmark your website and maintain checking for brand spanking new information.

  5. A extraordinary reveal, My spouse and i simply offered it through to some associate who had become working on another minimal researching in it. Along with the man within matter ordered i am breakfast considering that My partner and i discovered it all for the purpose of him.. smirk. And so allow for everyone reword that may: Thnx meant for your take care of! However , yep Thnkx regarding paying out these time to help you explore this particular, I just experience clearly around it again in addition to adore following alot more for this particular content. In cases where prospective, because people turned out to be encounter, could someone head producing an individual’s weblog along with a good deal more points? That might be incredibly practical for the purpose of me. Massive usb together with regard to it site publish!

  6. I think other site proprietors should take this web site as an model – very clean and great style and design, in addition to the content. You are an expert in this area!

  7. What would many of us do without the presence of the excellent strategies you discuss on this site? Who else has got the perseverance to deal with essential topics in the interest of common readers like me? I and my girlfriends are very delighted to have your blog among the kinds we usually visit. Hopefully you know how a great deal we take pleasure in your efforts! Best wishes through us all.

  8. I would like to consider the chance of saying thanks to you for the professional suggestions I have usually enjoyed going to your site. I am looking forward to the actual commencement of my college research and the complete preparing would never have been complete without consulting your website. If I might be of any help to others, I will be pleased to help through what I have gained from here.

  9. I just wanted to inform you about how much my spouse and i appreciate anything you’ve shared to help enhance the lives of folks in this subject matter. Through your own articles, I have gone through just a novice to a skilled in the area. It’s truly a gratitude to your initiatives. Thanks

  10. What would all of us do without the presence of the brilliant suggestions you discuss on this site? Who comes with the persistence to deal with vital topics in the interests of common readers like me? I actually and my guys are very delighted to have your web site among the kinds we typically visit. Hopefully you know how considerably we value your work! Best wishes from us all.

  11. It truly is rare to discover a professional in whom you will surely have some trust. In the world at present, nobody definitely cares about showing others the best way in this issue. How fortunate I am to have now found a wonderful website as this. It’s people like you that make a genuine difference in this world through the suggestions they share.

  12. I just wanted to let you know how much I appreciate every little thing you’ve shared to help improve lives of men and women in this subject matter. Through your articles, I’ve really gone from just a beginner to a pro in the area. It truly is truly a honor to your work. Thanks

  13. What would all of us do devoid of the amazing ideas you write about on this site? Who comes with the endurance to deal with crucial topics in the interests of common readers like me? I and my buddies are very lucky to have your web site among the types we typically visit. It is hoped you know how significantly we take pleasure in your working hard! Best wishes coming from us all.

  14. Thanks a lot for your time and energy to have put these things together on this web site. Emily and I very much valued your input through your articles with certain things. I am aware that you have numerous demands on your own schedule hence the fact that you took just as much time just like you did to guide people like us via this article is also highly liked.

  15. My husband and i were so delighted Emmanuel could round up his analysis because of the precious recommendations he came across from your web site. It is now and again perplexing to simply be freely giving strategies which men and women may have been trying to sell. And we all do know we’ve got the blog owner to be grateful to for this. All of the explanations you’ve made, the easy blog navigation, the relationships you make it possible to foster – it’s got most remarkable, and it’s really leading our son in addition to our family imagine that this article is enjoyable, and that is extremely pressing. Many thanks for the whole thing!

  16. I couldn’t have asked for a much better blog. You are always at hand to offer excellent suggestions, going instantly to the point for quick understanding of your site visitors. You’re really a terrific professional in this subject matter. Thanks a lot for currently being there humans like me.

  17. Hi there very nice web site!! Guy .. Excellent .. Superb .. I will bookmark your site and take the feeds also…I am satisfied to search out a lot of useful info here within the post, we want develop extra techniques in this regard, thanks for sharing. . . . . .

  18. What would many of us do devoid of the wonderful tips you reveal on this website? Who else has the perseverance to deal with vital topics in the interest of common subscribers like me? I actually and my girlfriends are very happy to have your site among the types we frequently visit. Hopefully you know how significantly we enjoy your work! Best wishes from us all.

  19. I just wanted to inform you how much my spouse and i appreciate anything you’ve provided to help improve lives of men and women in this subject material. Through your own articles, I’ve really gone via just a novice to a pro in the area. It truly is truly a gratitude to your efforts. Thanks

  20. My wife and i got quite joyous John managed to complete his research using the precious recommendations he came across through the weblog. It’s not at all simplistic to just choose to be giving away methods which many people have been making money from. So we know we’ve got you to thank for that. The explanations you have made, the easy website navigation, the friendships you aid to foster – it is everything fantastic, and it’s really helping our son and the family consider that that content is satisfying, and that is incredibly pressing. Many thanks for the whole lot!

  21. Thank you so much for giving everyone such a spectacular chance to read articles and blog posts from this web site. It is always so lovely and full of a great time for me personally and my office peers to search your web site the equivalent of three times in one week to find out the new things you have got. Not to mention, I am also at all times motivated with the beautiful ideas you give. Certain 2 points on this page are truly the most effective we’ve ever had.

Leave a Reply

