NOOKcolor Shipments Halted – Why?

News has it that Barnes & Noble have stopped shipments of their successful NOOKcolor Android tablet ereader. This color reader has seen great coverage in the Android developer community because of its enticing hardware and locked nature. While Barnes & Noble have intended this device to be used strictly for reading, sharing, and purchasing books (and down the line apps for reading as well,) it’s been met with some fast moving code tricks and hacks that have allowed avid coders to break its system wide open. When open, this ereader becomes more of a fabulous looking, nicely sized, fully functional Android tablet. What’s all this got to do with shipments?

 

One of the possibilities here is that they’ve stopped shipments directly in the face of the fact that their locked-down system has been broken into so easily. Another, possibly more realistic reason is the one that’s been floating around, apparently straight from Barnes & Noble themselves:

“B&N’s short-term solution to the problem is to move stock from one store to another to cover demand, with cooperation at the local level between stores.”

What do you think? Is there some third option? Perhaps Barnes & Noble wants to boost sales of their non-color NOOK for some reason? They DO have a valentines promotion going on right now – suspicious!

– thanks for the tip, CCard!

About ipodrohan

Rohan Sood, I am 14 years old. I am all about Technology and Gadgets! I am currently at New Delhi, India. Future plans are going to USA and working at one of the awesomest companies APPLE Inc. As you might know, “TECHNOLOGY” is present everywhere. Let’s together understand this word and make the World a better place. I believe in “Sharing KNOWLEDGE”. I created this Blog to share as much Knowledge as possible. I hope you find my Blog interesting and self-sufficient. I will keep you UP-TO-DATE about the Technology News around the Globe!

Posted on February 4, 2011, in Android, Gadgets, Information, Mobile Phones/Tablets, News and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. I simply want to tell you that I am just very new to blogging and absolutely enjoyed you’re web page. Most likely I’m want to bookmark your site . You actually have beneficial well written articles. Thanks a lot for sharing your blog.

  2. You made a few nice points there. I did a search on the matter and found mainly folks will consent with your blog.

  3. Nice post. I be taught one thing more difficult on different blogs everyday. It should at all times be stimulating to read content from different writers and observe a bit of something from their store. I’d choose to make use of some with the content on my blog whether or not you don’t mind. Natually I’ll give you a link on your net blog. Thanks for sharing.

  4. Could not thank you adequately for the articles on your web-site. I know you’d put a lot of time and effort into these and hope you know how considerably I enjoy it. I hope I am able to do exactly the same person sometime.

  5. What would many of us do devoid of the marvellous ideas you write about on this blog? Who has the tolerance to deal with vital topics in the interest of common visitors like me? I actually and my buddies are very happy to have your blog among the ones we usually visit. Hopefully you know how very much we value your hard work! Best wishes coming from us all.

  6. We fully appreciate your site post. You can find lots of means we could put it to great use with the help of minimum effort on time and money. Thank you very much regarding helping make the post give light to many queries we have had before now.

  7. Good post! interesting to view about this!! This is definitely some good information!

  8. It was my excitement discovering your site the other day. I came up here today hoping to discover interesting things. I was not dissatisfied. Your ideas in new tactics on this thing were enlightening and a wonderful help to me and my spouse. Thank you for having time to create these things as well as sharing your opinions.

  9. Thank you for sharing with us, I conceive this website genuinely stands out : D.

Leave a Reply

