Verizon Preparing 4G Internet Calling

Verizon is planning to roll out voice and video calls over the fourth-generation wireless data network the carrier started implementing in December. The new network will improve sound quality and allow for voice calling and internet use at the same time, a lacking feature of Verizon’s that AT&T has recently been quick to point out. Verizon wants to eventually transfer all traffic to the new 4G network and replace the old network that the carrier has used for more than a decade.

 

The new internet-calling feature will be titled VoLTE (Voice over LTE). Verizon’s current 4G network is called LTE, for Long-Term Evolution. Verizon’s first phone to use the new service is LG’s Revolution 4G said Brian Higgins, Verizon’s executive director for ecosystem development. The phone is set to debut around mid year and will be powered by Android.

The Revolution will have the new VoLTE as its default network and will drop back down to the old network when outside VoLTE coverage. Verizon’s 4G network is only covering one-third of the U.S. right now, with plans to expand it to match the carrier’s 3G network by 2013. Verizon is planning on unveiling VoLTE at Mobile World Congress next week.

“Eventually, operators are going to want all of their traffic on their LTE and next-generation network, and that includes the voice traffic. They’re not ready to do that today because voice services over LTE is more expensive,” says Phillip Redman, wireless analyst for Gartner Research. Verizon will probably want to push VoLTE as soon as possible though with the upcoming onslaught of iPhone users to the network.

[Via CNN]

About ipodrohan

Rohan Sood, I am 14 years old. I am all about Technology and Gadgets! I am currently at New Delhi, India. Future plans are going to USA and working at one of the awesomest companies APPLE Inc. As you might know, “TECHNOLOGY” is present everywhere. Let’s together understand this word and make the World a better place. I believe in “Sharing KNOWLEDGE”. I created this Blog to share as much Knowledge as possible. I hope you find my Blog interesting and self-sufficient. I will keep you UP-TO-DATE about the Technology News around the Globe!

Posted on February 8, 2011, in Information, News and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 48 Comments.

  1. I simply want to mention I am just newbie to blogging and site-building and certainly savored you’re page. Likely I’m want to bookmark your site . You really come with beneficial articles. Cheers for sharing with us your webpage.

  2. Hi. I like your website but i can tell it probably isn’t getting much traffic? If you want to help imrpove that check this website out, he has a short video that i really suggest you watch. Commission Crusher P.S this isn’t my website and i’m not spamming your blog, i don’t care if you delete this comment. I am only trying to help you improve your site.

  3. I’m impressed, I must say. Really rarely do I encounter a blog that’s both educative and entertaining, and let me tell you, you have hit the nail on the head. Your idea is outstanding; the issue is something that not enough people are speaking intelligently about. I am very happy that I stumbled across this in my search for something relating to this.

  4. I together with my pals have been taking note of the nice guidelines found on the website and then all of a sudden came up with a horrible suspicion I never thanked the web site owner for those techniques. All of the young boys became totally excited to learn all of them and have unquestionably been enjoying these things. Appreciate your indeed being really considerate and for making a decision on variety of beneficial areas millions of individuals are really needing to learn about. Our honest apologies for not saying thanks to sooner.

  5. I wish I had the same enthusiasm to make a page like this. You should be proud of yourself for making this!

  6. Reseguider erbjudande koh lanta £76612 Resor Resa £8951 Paketresorna paketresa £72420 Resguiden Reseguiden £58321 reseerbjudanden reseerbjudanden £18911 bali reseguide bali reseguide £47159 paris reseguide paris £87987 hong kong hong kong reseguide £10693 peking reseguide peking £55135 krabi reseguide krabi reseguide £53763 phuket phuket £6986 bangkok bangkok reseguide £64745 koh samu koh samu £20069 koh chang koh chang reseguide £41473 chiang mai chiang mai reseguide £95851 new york new york reseguide £54970 budapest budapest reseguide £79690

  7. Congratulations Val on your 100th post, I have to admit I have popped in a study a good number of your weblogs but I have no concept how to publish a response around there, so I’ll inform you now how great you are at describing the things your at – I have to admit I come across it insightful to read your blogging. Hold up the very good function.

  8. What I find difficult is finding a blog that can capture me for a minute but your posts are not alike. Great work!

  9. There are definitely a number of details like that to take into consideration. That may be a nice level to convey up. I supply the ideas above as common inspiration but clearly there are questions like the one you bring up where the most important factor might be working in honest good faith. I don?t know if best practices have emerged around issues like that, however I’m sure that your job is clearly recognized as a good game. Both girls and boys really feel the influence of only a second’s pleasure, for the rest of their lives.

  10. I’m interested in using some of your material for my website. Please let me know if I can do so if I link back to this page.

  11. We extremely appreciate your website post. You will find a lot of means we could put it to good use by means of minimal effort with time and capital. Thank you so much pertaining to helping have the post respond to many concerns we have had before now.

  12. Dont know if you will find the humor in this but I was searching for information on a research paper about TD Ameritrade and somehow from clicking through several links I stumbled into your blog here. While not at all relevent to what I was searching for, your post was interesting enough for me to not click back right away. Just wanted to comment before leaving to let you know that the internet is a weird place and you are getting visitors from places I’ll bet you never thought possible. Thanks.

  13. The thing is because bedbugs have showed up in various kinds of places. Before you travel, make sure you are prepared well for the bedbug issues so it will not become the fearful problem. Find some bed bug products if necessary.

  14. This is my first time I have visited your site. I found a lot of interesting information in your blog. From the volume of comments on your posts, I guess I am not the only one! keep up the impressive work.

  15. My brother suggested I would possibly like this blog. He was once entirely right. This submit actually made my day. You cann’t imagine simply how much time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

  16. Things you brought up a lot of sense. However, consider this, what happens if you offered a little more? What i’m saying is, I dont tend to tell you ways to write your site, however if you actually added extra content that could get peoples notice? Simply as a video clip or simply a image or perhaps few for getting your readers excited regarding what youve got to say.

  17. Heh, my friend placed this post on his favourites (we use the same PC). Looks sweet, keep going!

  18. Very clear site, regards for this post.

  19. This is a good common sense article. Very helpful to one who is just finding the resouces about this part. It will certainly help educate me.

  20. I enjoy you because of your entire effort on this blog. Kim loves doing internet research and it is simple to grasp why. My spouse and i hear all relating to the powerful tactic you give very important guidelines through the blog and as well inspire contribution from other ones about this theme and our princess is in fact becoming educated so much. Enjoy the remaining portion of the new year. You are doing a powerful job.

  21. Das ist ja eigentlich ein gut geschriebener Beitrag, aber Du musst irgendwie mal diesen Blog überprüfen… ich habe jetzt das fünfte Mal probiert meinen Beitrag abzuschicken, das tippe ich jetzt nicht wieder alles einmal!

  22. It is my very first time i visit this web site. I discovered countless interesting information in your web site notably this discussion. Among the a lot of comments on your writings, I guess I’m not the only one experiencing all of the enjoyment here!

  23. Hello! I just wanted to take the time to make a comment and say We have really enjoyed reading your blog. Thanks for all of your work.

  24. Thank you so much pertaining to giving us an update on this subject matter on your site. Please know that if a new post becomes available or when any adjustments occur to the current article, I would want to consider reading more and finding out how to make good utilization of those strategies you share. Thanks for your time and consideration of other folks by making this web site available. Gift Card Mall

  25. Purely to follow up on the update of this subject on your web page and would really want to let you know just how much I treasured the time you took to put together this helpful post. In the post, you actually spoke on how to truly handle this problem with all convenience. It would be my personal pleasure to gather some more concepts from your website and come up to offer others what I have benefited from you. Thank you for your usual good effort. call card

  26. I’m impressed. I dont think Ive met anyone who knows as much about this subject as you do. Youre truly well informed and very intelligent. You wrote something that people could understand and made the subject intriguing for everyone. Really, great blog you’ve got here.

  27. Y5aBWc cxmmephsrgcp, [url=http://rvwbgllhtzno.com/]rvwbgllhtzno[/url], [link=http://ivvjgoivtalw.com/]ivvjgoivtalw[/link], http://delfwvalbsmg.com/

  28. Paketresa öl i krabi erbjudanden paris £10172 Resan Resorna £19825 Paketresorna paketresa öl i krabi £18911 Reseguider Reseguider £26082 resor erbjudanden resor erbjudanden £33604 krabi reseguide

  29. We are a group of volunteers and starting a new initiative in our neighborhood. Your blog provided us with valuable information to work on|.You have done a marvellous job!

  30. My programmer is trying to convince me to move to .net from PHP. I have always disliked the idea because of the costs. But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using WordPress on several websites for about a year and am anxious about switching to another platform. I have heard great things about blogengine.net. Is there a way I can transfer all my wordpress posts into it? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  31. Wow, wonderful blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your website is magnificent, as well as the content!

  32. We wish to thank you once more for the lovely ideas you offered Janet when preparing her own post-graduate research and, most importantly, with regard to providing many of the ideas within a blog post. Provided we had been aware of your web site a year ago, i’d have been saved the unnecessary measures we were taking. Thanks to you. Palm Beach Gardens

  33. This is the perfect blog for anyone who wants to know about this topic. You know so much its almost hard to argue with you (not that I really would want…HaHa). You definitely put a new spin on a subject thats been written about for years. Great stuff, just great!. . .dont forget to visit my site SMS Gratis Semua OPerator , I will Visit Your Web Daily, it is great site i found in internet, Thx

  34. The ideas you provided here are quite precious. It had been such an enjoyable surprise to get that waiting for me after i woke up today. They are constantly to the point and straightforward to grasp. Thanks a ton for the valuable ideas you’ve got shared right here. Revitol Stretch Mark Cream

  35. A lot of thanks for your entire hard work on this site. Betty really likes making time for research and it’s easy to understand why. We all know all concerning the lively means you give insightful guidelines through this website and as well as cause response from people about this subject matter while our princess is actually learning so much. Take advantage of the remaining portion of the year. You are always doing a first class job.

  36. Thank you for all your efforts on this web page. My aunt takes pleasure in going through internet research and it is obvious why. We all know all concerning the dynamic means you present great techniques through the website and boost response from some others on this concept plus my child is in fact discovering a lot of things. Enjoy the remaining portion of the new year. You are conducting a really great job.

  37. very nice publish, i actually love this website, keep on it

  38. We so appreciate your site post. There are actually a multitude of tactics we could put it to very good use with little or no effort with time and hard earned money. Thank you really regarding helping make this post answer many concerns we have had before now.

  39. I really wanted to type a simple comment so as to appreciate you for all the great tips and hints you are giving here. My extended internet research has at the end of the day been paid with sensible facts to write about with my contacts. I ‘d admit that most of us site visitors actually are definitely fortunate to live in a magnificent site with so many awesome people with beneficial tips and hints. I feel pretty grateful to have come across your entire webpage and look forward to tons of more entertaining moments reading here. Thanks once again for all the details.

  40. We extremely appreciate your blog post. There are hundreds of ways we could put it to proper use while having minimal effort in time and money. Thank you so much regarding helping have the post respond to many concerns we have encountered before now.

  41. How Do I Get Him Back?: Make money and Help Women in Need! The market for this product will never…

  42. I wish to convey my respect for your generosity supporting men and women that really want help on in this study. Your very own commitment to passing the message across was remarkably beneficial and have continually encouraged some individuals much like me to realize their aims. Your valuable help denotes much a person like me and far more to my peers. Thank you; from everyone of us.

  43. Good day very cool blog!! Man .. Beautiful .. Amazing .. I will bookmark your site and take the feeds additionally…I am glad to seek out numerous useful information right here in the put up, we’d like develop extra strategies on this regard, thank you for sharing. . . . . .

  44. I have been exploring for a little for any high quality articles or weblog posts on this sort of space . Exploring in Yahoo I at last stumbled upon this website. Reading this info So i am satisfied to express that I have an incredibly good uncanny feeling I found out just what I needed. I such a lot certainly will make certain to do not disregard this website and provides it a glance regularly.

  45. We really appreciate your website post. You will discover so many ways we could put it to really good use with the help of no effort in time and financial resources. Thank you very much pertaining to helping have the post reply many concerns we have got before now.

  46. Have poor credit rating? Get in touch with the top notch corporation out there!

  47. At the moment we working on the next version of the demo. But you can find more information here

Leave a Reply

