AT&T Activates Personal Hotspot feature on iOS 4.3 beta

It is being reported that AT&T acquiesced to activate the new Personal Hotspot WiFisharing feature of iOS 4.3 beta 3 for a developer, when he mentioned that he might switch to Verizon to get the feature.

Apple added the Personal Hotspot feature in iOS 4.2.6, a build that only runs on the Verizon iPhone 4, where the iPhone becomes a Wi-Fi base station. Up to five laptops, iPod Touches or other gadgets can get online, using the iPhone as a glorified Internet antenna.

The individual reporting AT&T’s acquiescence in provisioning the feature on his phone running the developer build says the carrier agreed “after I mentioned Verizon a few times.”

Interestingly, it is not officially announced that the new Personal Hotspot WiFi sharing feature would come to existing AT&T iPhone users, but AT&T will had to enable it to be competitive to Verizon. Verizon offers tethering with a Wi-Fi Hotspot, giving Internet access to up to five devices for $20 with a capping of 2GB per month.

[Update 1]: @reeldigitalpro has shared a screenshot showing personal hotspot on AT&T…via

Mobile Hotspot Enabled on AT&T

For all Personal Hotspot on AT&T and  iOS 4.3 related updates

About ipodrohan

Rohan Sood, I am 14 years old. I am all about Technology and Gadgets! I am currently at New Delhi, India. Future plans are going to USA and working at one of the awesomest companies APPLE Inc. As you might know, “TECHNOLOGY” is present everywhere. Let’s together understand this word and make the World a better place. I believe in “Sharing KNOWLEDGE”. I created this Blog to share as much Knowledge as possible. I hope you find my Blog interesting and self-sufficient. I will keep you UP-TO-DATE about the Technology News around the Globe!

Posted on February 20, 2011, in Apple, iDevice Related, Mobile Phones/Tablets, News and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I’d be inclined to pass on with you one this subject. Which is not something I typically do! I really like reading a post that will make people think. Also, thanks for allowing me to comment!

Leave a Reply

