Apple Testing Android Style Lockscreen for iPhone, iPad & iPod touch

Apple fanatics at 9to5Mac have just published first screenshots of gesture based Android-style lockscreen for iOS devices that Apple is currently testing. This new lock screen has already been pushed internally for use in the employee ‘Apple Connect’ application.

To unlock the device, Apple employees have an access to 9 points which are divided into three columns on the screen. They just turn some of these points in a pre-defined pattern to unlock the device. However, there are reports that this extra layer of security will be made available to some of their internal applications which are being used by retail-store employees.

There is no evidence to suggest that Google patented Lockscreen will be adopted by iOS devices in public, but it is interesting to note that the buttons are slightly different from the current one. Will we have a change in interface in iOS 4.3 or probably iOS 5.0?

If you have a jailbroken iPhone, you can install AndroidLock Cydia app which is an android like lockscreen for your iDevice. Just Tap or slide to unlock. AndroidLock XT is compatible with LockCalendar, LockInfo and Cydgets and is available for $1.49 only.

About ipodrohan

Rohan Sood, I am 14 years old. I am all about Technology and Gadgets! I am currently at New Delhi, India. Future plans are going to USA and working at one of the awesomest companies APPLE Inc. As you might know, “TECHNOLOGY” is present everywhere. Let’s together understand this word and make the World a better place. I believe in “Sharing KNOWLEDGE”. I created this Blog to share as much Knowledge as possible. I hope you find my Blog interesting and self-sufficient. I will keep you UP-TO-DATE about the Technology News around the Globe!

Posted on March 1, 2011, in Android, Apple, News and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I’d be inclined to give carte blanche with you one this subject. Which is not something I usually do! I enjoy reading a post that will make people think. Also, thanks for allowing me to speak my mind!

Leave a Reply

